WSBK: Toprak Razgatloglu Wins the Tissot Superpole Race.

Published on July 2, 2023
By Dawn Hammersley

Toprak wins the Superpole Race after a last lap battle with Bautista and Jonathan Rea.

For the Superpole Race Jonathan Rea was on pole position, with yesterday’s race one winner Alvaro Bautista and Italian rider Danilo Petrucci. It was cloudy and windy weather conditions at the Midlands circuit.

Alvaro shot off the line and lead the field into Redgate, Rea took charge of proceedings a few corners later and was leading the race. Toprak made his way into second place, Alvaro was in third place with Alex Lowes on his tail.

Loris Baz crashed out at Goddards on the opening lap. Rinaldi has a shocker of a start again and was way down the order after running off track at the Melbourne Loop. Tom Sykes was in seventh place itching to pass Yamaha’s Andrea Locatelli.

With seven laps to go Rea was looking strong at the front, Toprak wasn’t letting the Kawasaki rider get away. Alvaro looked to be losing time on the leading duo, Lowes was in fourth place but was losing touch with the leading trio.

Alvaro set a new lap record of 125.896 on lap six whilst running in third place. Britain’s Brad Ray was running in 13th place, Scott Redding was in 10th place, Sykes was in eighth place until he crashed out on the penultimate lap.

Toprak took the lead at the Melbourne Loop on the penultimate lap, the leading trio were so close on the final lap! Alvaro took second place at the Foggy Esses, Toprak held off the Spaniard to cross the line and take the victory. Rea had to settle for third place, Locatelli finished in fourth place with Petrucci finishing in fifth place.

Featured Images: Olithephoto.


Looking to update your website?

ThisWebDesign works with small and medium-sized companies from all over the globe. Our focus is on offering visually engaging websites, social media profiles that convert, and branding that creates a powerful and lasting image.

Recent posts