SpanishGP: Arenas wins again in dramatic SpanishGP

Published on July 19, 2020
By Short Shift News

Albert Arenas has taken his second win of the season after a fantastic victory in what was a fiery Spanish GP.

Arenas played his cards right throughout the race and picked up the pieces in the final corner battle to claim his second win of the year finishing ahead of a surprise Ai Ogura and Tony Arbolino.

The two SKY VR46 bikes took control early on before gradually being beaten up throughout the pack.

In contrast, PETRONAS rider John McPhee had the opposite situation on his hands, dropping from third to seventh on the opening lap.The leading group consisted of 20 riders with Sergio Garcia flying through the pack from the back of the grid.

The Spaniard was later given a long lap penalty dropping the EG0,0 Marc VDS rider outside of the top points.Back at the front, Darryn Binder had joined the battle from 21st on the grid.

Binder took the fight to Arenas and Arbolino for the lead of the race, but with a handful of laps to go, crashed out at turn 8.John McPhee recovered ground and hit the front, controlling the pace throughout the final five laps, but on the penultimate lap, dropped behind Arbolino.

The Scot returned to the front at the final corner and started the last lap in the lead of the race, but once again at Dani Pedrosa corner, Arbolino pulled up alongside McPhee and took the lead. Arenas then made the pass into turn eight demoting the Qatar podium finisher down to third, and with work to do in the final sector.

McPhee made an ambitious but fair dive into the final corner, running slightly wide, allowing Vietti and Arbolino to repass.

But as the two Italians scrapped for the podium finishes, they came together and rebounded into the path of McPhee sending the 26-year-old tumbling into the gravel.

Arenas picked up the pieces to claim his fifth win in the Moto3 class with Ai Ogura pinching 2nd and Tony Arbolino getting the better of Vietti and Migno who finished fourth and fifth.

Red Bull KTM AJO’s Raul Fernandez recovered to 5th position after being beaten up in the first half of the race with Gabriel Rodrigo, Tatsuki Suzuki, Niccolo Antonelli and Jaume Masia completing the top ten.

The sole Red Bull KTM of Ayumu Sasaki crossed the line in 11th ahead of Stefano Nepa and the two Sterilgarda Max Racing Team Husqvarna’s of Romano Fenati and Alonso Lopez.

The final point went to Jeremy Alcoba.

Moto3 Jerez Results

  1. Albert Arenas (Gaviota Aspar Team Moto3)
  2. Ai Ogura (Honda Team Asia) +0.340
  3. Tony Arbolino (Rivacold Snipers) +0.369
  4. Andrea Migno (SKY Racing Team VR46) +0.546
  5. Celestino Vietti (SKY Racing Team VR46) +0.634
  6. Raul Fernandez (Red Bull KTM Ajo) +0.682
  7. Gabriel Rodrigo (Kommerling Gresini Moto3) +0.753
  8. Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58 Squadra corse) +0.881
  9. Niccolo Antonelli (SIC58 Squadra corse) +0.986
  10. Jaume Masia (Leopard Racing) +3.646
  11. Ayumu Sasaki (Red Bull KTM Tech 3) +3.751
  12. Stefano Nepa (Gaviota Aspar Team Moto3) +3.936
  13. Romano Fenati (Sterilgarda Max Racing Team) +4.157
  14. Alonso Lopez (Sterilgarda Max Racing Team) +6.086
  15. Jeremy Alcoba (Kommerling Gresini Moto3) +5.608

Albert Arenas goes into round three of the Moto3 World Championship, which takes place next weekend from Jerez, as the championship leader with 50 out of a possible 50 points for the Spaniard.


Looking to update your website?

ThisWebDesign works with small and medium-sized companies from all over the globe. Our focus is on offering visually engaging websites, social media profiles that convert, and branding that creates a powerful and lasting image.

Recent posts