WorldSSP: Yari Montella gets his 2024 season off to the perfect start in Australia

Published on February 25, 2024
By Luke Newman

The Italian rider has started his 2024 campaign in perfect fashion as Yari Montella has won two races out of two at Phillip Island.

After a delayed start Yari Monetlla got off to a blistering start of a shortened nine lap race as the current Championship leader shot off at the front. Montella started from pole position due to setting the fastest lap in Race One, part of a new format that would determine the positions of front three rows.

Despite his great start Monetlla did come under pressure in the latter laps as MV Agusta rider, Marcel Schroetter, piled the pressure on the Italian rider, but could not make him crack and had to settle for second place. Meaning he is still seeking his maiden World Supersport win.

Adrian Huertas rounded out the podium as he inherited the podium places from a crash from the original third place runner. This was the first podium for Huertas in his World Supersport career and his first for the Racing – Ducati WorldSSP squad.

Federico Caricasulo got the better of French rider, Valentin Debise, as the Italian crossed the line in fourth and the Frenchman in fifth.

Bahattin Sofuoglu had a strong sixth place finish, picking up some good points for his early Championship efforts. 2017 World Supersport Champion, Lucas Mahias finished in seventh place ahead of British rider John McPhee.

Lorenzo Baldassarri finished in ninth place ahead of home hero, Oliver Bayliss, who claimed his second top ten result of the weekend.

Yeray Ruiz, Jorge Navarro, British rider Tom Booth-Amos, Niki Tuuli and Anupab Sarmoon rounded out the points.

2024 Australian WorldSSP | Phillip Island | Race Two Results | Rd. 1 of 12
1Yari MontellaITABarni Spark RacingDucati Panigale V29 Laps
2Marcel SchroetterGERMV Agusta Reparto CorseMV Agusta F3 800 RR+0.203
3Adrian HuertasESPAruba Racing WSSPDucati Panigale V2+1.658
4Federico CaricasuloITAMotozoo ME AIR RacingMV Agusta F3 800 RR+5.289
5Valentin DebiseFRAEvan Bros. WorldSSPYamaha R6+5.554
6Bahattin SofuogluTURMV Agusta Reparto CorseMV Agusta F3 800 RR+5.677
7Lucas MahiasFRAGMT 94Yamaha R6+6.498
8John McPheeGBRWRP-RT MotorsportTriumph STR 765 RS+11.798
9Lorenzo BaldassarriITAOrelac Racing VerdnaturaDucati Panigale V2+14.420
10Oliver BaylissAUSD34G RacingDucati Panigale V2+14.970
11Yeray RuizESPVFT RacingYamaha R6+15.241
12Jorge NavarroESPWRP-RT MotorsportTriumph STR 765 RS+15.422
13Tom Booth-AmosGBRPTR TriumphTriumph STR 765 RS+15.629
14Niki TuuliFINEAB RacingDucati Panigale V2+15.917
15Anupab SarmoonTHAYamaha Thailand RacingYamaha R6+17.182
16Can OncuTURKawasaki Puccetti RacingKawasaki ZX-6R+18.538
17Nicollo AntonelliITAAlthea Racing TeamDucati Panigale V2+18.726
18Tom ToparisAUSStop & Seal RacingYamaha R6+19.643
19Ondrej VostatekCZEPTR TriumphTriumph STR 765 RS+20.266
20Glenn van StraalenNEDPata Yamaha Ten KateYamaha R6+21.360
21Kaito TobaJPNPetronas MIE RacingHonda CBR600RR+21.396
22Krittapat KeankumTHAYamaha Thailand RacingYamaha R6+31.514
23Khairul Idham Bin PawiMASPetronas MIE RacingHonda CBR600RR+31.675
24Hikari OkuboJPNVince64 Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-6R+33.089
25Marcel BrennerSUIVIAMO RacingKawasaki ZX-6R+44.052
DNFStefano ManziITAPata Yamaha Ten KateYamaha R6

Looking to update your website?

ThisWebDesign works with small and medium-sized companies from all over the globe. Our focus is on offering visually engaging websites, social media profiles that convert, and branding that creates a powerful and lasting image.

Recent posts