BSB: Jason O’Halloran Wins Race Three And Takes His Eleventh Victory of The season.

Published on September 12, 2021
By Dawn Hammersley

Jason O’Halloran Takes The Final race Win At Silverstone.

For the final race of Round Eight at Silverstone, McAMS Yamaha’s Tarran Mackenzie was on Pole Position, Team-mate O’Halloran was in second place, with Buildbase Suzuki’s Gino Rea in third place. Once the checkered flag is waved at the end of this race, we will have our eight confirmed 2021 Showdown contenders.

First into Copse was Buildbase Suzuki’s Gino Rea, followed by the McAMS Yamaha’s duo. After two laps Tommy Bridewell split the Yamaha’s up and was in third place, Brad Ray got up-to fourth place but ran wide giving up the fourth place to Ducati’s Josh Brookes.

Christian Iddon was having issues with braking, he was down in 14th place. Showdown rivals Danny Buchan and Lee Jackson were in ninth and tenth place. Brookes was in to third place at Brooklands, Josh needed to do what he was doing to get into the Showdown, he then launched himself in front of Bridewell at Copse for second place.

There was a 11-man train for the lead, Brookes took the lead at Brooklands on lap nine. Bridewell stormed through to second place, team orders came into play between BMW’s Andrew Irwin and Danny Buchan, Andrew let Danny passed to take eighth place. The race was halted on lap 12 due to Buildbase Suzuki’s Luke Staplford’s GSXR-1000 expiring and caused Luke to crash leaving fluid on the track.

The race was re-started with the grid positions from which position the riders were in on lap 11. The front row was Brookes, Bridewell and O’Halloran. No tyre changes were allowed, the new race distance would be 15 laps.

Brookes got a flying start followed by Gino Rea, Bridewell passed Gino for second place. On the second lap Gino crashed out at Brooklands. O’Halloran took second place from Bridewell, Danny Buchan was in sixth, Brad Ray was in ninth. Tarran Mackenzie was on the move and got into third place.

Jason O’Halloran took lead from Brookes at Copse on lap seven, then Mackenzie took Brookes a lap later, Brookes must stay in the top five to keep his Showdown hopes alive. Buchan was up-to fifth on the charge, The McAMS Yamaha’s were dicing with each other for first position! Bridewell took third place from Brookes on the penultimate lap, but Brookes fought back.

O’Halloran got the victory, Mackenzie had to settle for second, Brookes held onto third place, Buchan snatched fourth place, Bridewell finished in fifth. Brad Ray finished in seventh place and Lee Jackson finished in eighth place, so both Ray and Jackson unfortunately did not make the Showdown.

Jason O’Halloran, Tarran Mackenzie, Christian Iddon, Tommy Bridewell, Peter Hickman, Danny Buchan, Glenn Irwin and Josh Brookes have all made the 2021 Showdown. It’s all to play for at Round Nine at Oulton Park.

Featured Images: Bennetts British Superbikes, McAMS Yamaha Racing Team.


Looking to update your website?

ThisWebDesign works with small and medium-sized companies from all over the globe. Our focus is on offering visually engaging websites, social media profiles that convert, and branding that creates a powerful and lasting image.

Recent posts