Moto 2: Raul Fernandez Takes Pole Position in Misano

Published on September 18, 2021
By Jack Hammersley

Raul Fernandez takes his fifth pole position of the season at the San Marino circuit

In Q1 it was very frantic and tense as the track was dry but the rain was beginning to fall so it looked like the riders first lap was going to be the most important lap to get into Q2. Bo Bendseyder set the fastest opening lap time with Hector Garzo in second, Tony Arbolino in third and Jake Dixon in fourth. But the riders were going quicker on their next laps as their Dunlop tyres increased in temperature.

At the end of the session it was Celestino Vietti, Lorenzo Dalla Porta, Joe Roberts and Tom Luthi that were able to get through into Q2, unfortunately for Jake Dixon he missed out on a Q2 spot by two places and will start in 20th position for tomorrow’s race.

For Q2 the Sun had come out with riders going out on slicks and it looked like the riders final laps could the be the most important with the track potentially being in better condition. Aron Canet had set the opening pace with a 1:38.272 but the times would soon start to fall.

Fabio Di Giannantonio who hasn’t really shown amazing pace all weekend went to the top of the time sheets by one thousandth of a second ahead of Canet, but that didn’t last too long as Raul Fernandez then went fastest with nine minutes to go.

Remy Gardner then went into pole position setting the first lap in the 1:36’s with a 1:36.861. Then with four minutes to go Sam Lowes went into pole position by over a tenth of a second. Xavi Vierge went into fourth place but then dropped to fifth as Augusto Fernandez went into second place. Sam then improved his lap further by another tenth of a second.

Raul Fernandez on his last lap of the session went into pole position to take his fifth pole position of the season. Sam Lowes was in second place with his ELF Marc VDS team-mate Augusto Fernandez in third and championship leader Remy Gardner in fourth. Aron Canet will start in fifth and Jorge Navarro in sixth, SKY Racing VR46’s Marco Bezzecchi in eighth and Fabio Di Giannantonio in ninth.

The weather is unpredictable for tomorrow and both Red Bull KTM Ajo’s are not strong in the wet conditions so we could see a surprise winner tomorrow should it be wet, but if it’s dry it could be anyone inside the top eight. Who will be the winner of the San Marino Grand Prix tomorrow? It takes places at 12:20 (GMT+2)

Featured Image:


Looking to update your website?

ThisWebDesign works with small and medium-sized companies from all over the globe. Our focus is on offering visually engaging websites, social media profiles that convert, and branding that creates a powerful and lasting image.

Recent posts