MotoGP: Miguel Oliveira Wins the Indonesian Grand Prix

Published on March 20, 2022
By Jack Hammersley

Red Bull KTM’s Miguel Oliveira dominated in the wet conditions to win the first Indonesian Grand Prix in 25 years

After a 75 minute delay the race got under way in wet conditions, Marc Marquez was declared unfit due to suffering a concussion after a huge crash in morning Warm-up. The race was deuced by 3/4 to be a 20 lap race due to track conditions.

The lights went out and Fabio Quartararo took the holeshot ahead of Miguel Oliveira and Alex Rins, Brad Binder went around the outside of everyone while Jorge Martin went backwards.

Oliveira out-dragged Quartararo to lead the opening lap, Miller overtook Fabio into turn one and the Australian then took the lead at turn 10. Rins and Johann Zarco were approaching the fight for the podium.

On lap four Rins and Zarco passed Quartararo down the main straight, Miller and Oliveira had pulled a two second gap from Rins in third.

Joan Mir and Franco Morbidelli had made great progress from their poor qualifying positions to be in sixth and seventh.

Oliveira took the lead at turn 12 on lap five and started to break away, setting the fastest lap of the race. Pecco Bagnaia was running in ninth place, but lost the front braking for turn one, the Italian managed to save it and ran on, he rejoined in 12th place.

withU RNF Yamaha’s Andrea Dovizioso was running in 13th position and had a techincal problem on lap seven.

On lap eight Martin passed Morbidelli down the straight but hit a puddle braking for turn one and lost the front and was out of the race.

Oliveira continued to set the pace, setting fastest laps consistently, his team-mate Brad Binder was in ninth place and was in a championship leading position with Enea Bastianini out of the points.

Pol Espargaro had a huge moment out of the last corner on lap eight and somehow stayed on his Honda.

Rins was starting to charge to Miller, going over half a second quicker than him and closing the gap to second place. Zarco was also moving, setting the fastest lap on lap ten and beginning to hound Rins; passing the Suzuki rider into turn 12.

Quartararo was mounting a comeback as he passed Rins into turn two on lap 13 to move into fourth place. Zarco had set the first 1:38 of the race and was looking to pass Miller as soon as possible.

Darryn Binder was in tenth place and was putting his brother under pressure, a great ride by the rookie. Zarco was struggling to find a way through on Miller; Oliveira was still in first place with a four second lead.

Zarco made his move at turn ten on lap 15 but ran wide allowing Miller through and Quartararo had joined the fight and took his fellow frenchman at turn 16, Zarco fought back into turn one, but Fabio was able to cutback on the Ducati.

Quartararo moved into second place at turn 12 with Miller unable to fight back, Zarco still unable to get passed the Australian until Miller ran wide at turn ten and Zarco finally got passed.

There was a eight rider fight for eighth place with Darryn Binder being the leader of the group.

Quartararo set the fastest lap of the race and had closed the gap by over a second and could be in range to attack the Red Bull KTM rider on the last lap.

Oliveira started the last lap with a good gap over Quartararo, the battle for eighth was manic with all eight riders fighting for the final top eight position.

Miguel Oliveira took his fourth MotoGP victory of his career with Quartararo crossing the line in second with Zarco rounding out the podium in third.

Miller finished in fourth place with the Suzuki’s in fifth and sixth Rins getting the better of Joan Mir. Franco Morbidelli had a lonely ride to seventh place.

Brad Binder won the battle for eighth place ahead of Aleix Espargaro and Darryn Binder who rounded out the top ten. Bastianini holds on to the championship lead and finished in 11th, Pol Espargaro was 12th ahead of fellow Honda rider Alex Marquez.

Luca Marini finished in 14th and Pecco Bagnaia was in 15th! A disastrous day for the pre-season championship favourite.

Maverick Vinales was 16th ahead of Raul Fernandez in 17th, Fabio Di Giannantonio was 18th, Takaaki Nakagami beat Marco Bezzecchi by 0.002 seconds for 19th with Remy Gardner crossing the line in 21st to round out the field.

Enea Bastianini continues to lead the championship with a 30 point tally, Brad Binder is in second, two points behind and Quartararo one point Brad in third.

Round takes place at the Termas De Rio Hondo Circuit for the Argentine Grand Prix in a fortnights time.

Featured Image:


Looking to update your website?

ThisWebDesign works with small and medium-sized companies from all over the globe. Our focus is on offering visually engaging websites, social media profiles that convert, and branding that creates a powerful and lasting image.

Recent posts