Moto2: Pedro Acosta Wins a Drama Fueled Race at the IndianOil Grand Prix of India.

Published on September 24, 2023
By Dawn Hammersley

Pedro Acosta extends his championship lead as all-three British riders get taken out of the race.

Britain’s Jake Dixon was on pole position for the first ever race at the Budda International Circuit, championship leader KTM’s Pedro Acosta lined-up in second place with Sergio Garcia rounding out the front row of the grid.

As the red lights went out Jake Dixon was first into turn one, a group of riders touched and went down! The race was Red Flagged, the riders involved were Somkiat Chantra, Jeremy Alcoba, Celestino Vietti, Marcos Ramirez and Taiga Hada. Alcoba was given a Long Lap penalty for causing the incident.

The race was reduced to 12 laps for the restart, Lopez got the holeshot into turn one but ran wide again and took Dixon with him. Acosta was leading the way after a few hectic corners. There was another incident at turn four with Aron Canet, Sam Lowes and Ai Ogura.

Tony Arbolino was in second place, Sergio Garcia was in third place, Joe Roberts was in fourth place. Pedro had a 1.5s lead at the front of the Moto2 field. Jake was in the mix in sixth place, until Lopez took Jake out at turn four! Lopez went underneath Jake causing them both to go down, Dixon rejoined the race. No penalty was given to Lopez for his move on Jake.

Darryn Binder was having a solid ride in sixth place after coming back from injury. Jake crashed out again at turn 11, a round to forget for the British rider!

Acosta extended his lead to just over two seconds from Arbolino. Garcia and Joe Roberts were dicing for third place, Zonta Vd Goorberg was in a battle for fifth place with Gonzalez.

Joe Roberts was riding the wheels off his Italtrans machinery trying to pass Garcia, the American made his move for third place with two laps to go in the race, Garcia retook the position, not for long as Joe made his move yet again. Garcia was working hard to retake the position, the two were running wide at every corner on the final lap!

Acosta crossed the line to take his sixth victory of the season, Arbolino was second, Roberts took the final podium place, Garcia had to settle for fourth, Gonzalez was fifth. Rory Skinner got taken out on the final lap by Nozane!

Featured Image: Red Bull KTM Ajo.


Looking to update your website?

ThisWebDesign works with small and medium-sized companies from all over the globe. Our focus is on offering visually engaging websites, social media profiles that convert, and branding that creates a powerful and lasting image.

Recent posts