MotoGP: Jorge Martin Wins the First Sprint Race of the 2024 Season

Published on March 9, 2024
By Jack Hammersley

Jorge Martin dominates the opening sprint of the season with three different manufacturers on the podium

Jorge Martin shattered the lap record by one second to take the first pole position of 2024. Aprilia’s Aleix Espargaro qualified in second lap with ‘The Beast’ Enea Bastianini rounding out the front row, the last time the Italian qualified in third he went on to win the Grand Prix. Reigning world champion Francesco Bagnaia started from the middle of the second row in fifth alongside Red Bull KTM’s Brad Binder in fourth and Gresini Racing’s Marc Marquez in sixth. The only rookie for this season Pedro Acosta will start his debut MotoGP premier class weekend from eight position.

The lights went out and it was Jorge Martin who took the holeshot into turn one ahead of Binder and Bastianini. Jack Miller made up five places to sixth places ahead of Marc Marquez who was battling hard with Fabio Di Giannantonio.

At turn 15 on the opening lap Pecco Bagnaia overtook Bastianini for fourth place. Marc Marquez on lap two block passed Miller into turn six for sixth, Di Giannantonio overtook Miller at turn ten with Alex Marquez then passed the Australian into turn 12 with Acosta passing the Red Bull KTM rider at turn 16.

Di Giannantonio was the first faller of the season at turn 11, Pecco passed Espargaro at turn one on lap four. Meanwhile Marc Marquez was charging towards Bastianini setting the fastest lap of the race.

Marc Marquez passed Bastianini at the final corner after the Italian ran wide at the end of lap five. He then passed Espargaro at turn one on lap seven for fourth place. Marquez made a mistake at turn 13 and Espargaro made him pay and retook fourth at turn 15 on lap eight.

Espargaro was the fastest rider on track with two laps remaining and tried to pass Pecco into turn four but ran wide and had to settle back into fourth.

Espargaro passed Pecco into the final corner heading onto the final lap and held off the world champion into turn one.

Martin took victory in the first sprint of the season ahead of Binder and Espargaro, Pecco finished in fourth having problems at the end of the race. Marc Marquez rounded out the top five with Bastianini in sixth, Alex Marquez in seventh. Reigning Moto2 world champion Acosta picked up two championship points on his debut with Maverick Vinales taking the final point in ninth.

Featured Image: Pramac Racing


Looking to update your website?

ThisWebDesign works with small and medium-sized companies from all over the globe. Our focus is on offering visually engaging websites, social media profiles that convert, and branding that creates a powerful and lasting image.

Recent posts